Throwback Post: All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

When I started my blog, three years ago, I was obsessed with All the Stars and Teeth, and one of the first things I did was write a book review about it. For some reason, however, I never actually ended up posting that review, and it has been sitting at the very bottom of my drafts folder for three years. Due to the recent event of my blogoversary, I came back to this post, and decided to publish it, just so that readers could get an idea of how I wrote when I first started this blog, and to get a little laugh. So, nothing within this post has been changed – no words, no pictures, nothing. You get my old rating system, and my old cringey writing. This was even before I had developed any of my graphics, so it’s a very word-heavy post without many breaks. Enjoy!

I loved the idea of doing instagram-esque book pictures when I first started blogging, and this was one of the best ones I did (read that how you will).

“I am meant to wear this crown.”

Amora Montara is princess of the island kingdom Visidia. To become the next High Animancer, ruler of her people, she must pass a test to prove that she has conquered the dangerous soul magic that lives inside her. She’s trained for the test since she was a child; she knows she’s ready.

“No one in my family has ever failed their performance and I’ve dedicated too much of my life to be the first.”

When her magic goes awry, Amora is forced to flee her home island where execution could be a possibility – her magic is too unpredictable to be left alone and untamed. She strikes a deal with the pirate Bastian: if he helps her prove she can rule, she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic. Unfortunately, she doesn’t know what she’s gotten into as Bastian reveals secrets that could throw all of Visidia into strife if they knew. There is a destructive new magic wielded by a power hungry islander and if she can’t stop him, her family’s rule may be coming to an end.

“I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.”

When I picked this book up, I was afraid it would be just another story about a princess. Don’t get me wrong, stories about princesses who can defend themselves are great but there’s just so many of them. However this book also enticed me. There was a great magic system, pirates, mermaids and a girl–princess aside–who could wield a dangerous power. Plus, Tomi Adeyemi, author of Children of Blood and Bone which I had just read, raved about this book, so I decided to give it a try.

Very soon after picking it up, it became less about how Tomi Adeyemi had recommended this book and more about how THIS BOOK IS AMAZING. Let me first talk about the characters.

Amora, the princess, is our main character. Some things I liked about her were that she was willing to do anything for her kingdom, and I mean anything. Sailing all the way across her kingdom to confront a man threatening the crown? Yep, she did that. And here’s the best thing. Amora is naive, but that is in no way her fault. She had been deprived of even seeing her kingdom, forced to stay on her home island with only stories of the other islands in Visidia. Meanwhile, her father was hiding that the kingdom was actually falling apart–rebellion was brewing. When Amora eventually learned of this, she didn’t give up. She didn’t decide her country was already dead or demand answers from her father. Instead, she figured that she could save the kingdom herself.

Next we have Bastian, the pirate. Bastian is witty, fast-thinking and full of secrets. He’s also from the mysterious island of Zudoh, banished from Visidia when Amora was only seven years old. Even more, he somehow lost his magic a long time ago–something that Amora didn’t think was possible. Still, despite the fact that he’s rather suspicious, if you look at the facts, Bastian will quickly worm his way into your heart. Plus, he’s Amora’s only possible way to save the kingdom, given that he’s offered a boat, so he must be good for something. Especially since the boat can be sailed without a crew…but only if Bastian is on it.

Ferrick, the stowaway. Ferrick is a bit of an oddball. Really, he shouldn’t be in the story if not for his unwavering loyalty. He has a massive crush on Amora and even goes so far as to following her onto Bastian’s boat and challenging him to a duel just to keep Amora safe. Too bad she’s not the sort of princess who needs to be kept safe….

Last, we have Vataea, a mermaid. Vataea doesn’t come into the book until later on which is too bad because she is amazing like no amazingness has ever been seen. She’s a man-murdering, sea-parting half fish. What’s not to love? Plus you can practically imagine her smirking in every page you read so get ready for some absolutely ferocious ladies.

This review is getting long and I haven’t even described plot or setting! If you’re still reading (I’m hoping I haven’t bored you away!) then I promise I’ll make this short…it’s hard not to rave about this book, though.

This book takes place in the island kingdom of Visidia. This is such a unique setting, because it’s a kingdom, as most fantasy books are in, but it’s an island kingdom. Basically, a looooot of water which gives you, you guessed it, a sailing adventure. Plus, each island has its own type of magic which makes it really interesting. If you live on Kerost you can use time magic, on Valuka you practice with an element, and if you happen to be royalty and live on the island of Arida, you would be gifted–and cursed–with the dangerous soul magic, powers that center around hurting and killing others.

The plot: Well the first thing I should say is that it’s fantasy adventure, which is my favorite. But seriously, this plot is great. The inciting incident is when Amora fails the challenge that she has to succeed in to become the High Animancer, which is the ruler of Visidia. Afraid she’s going to be executed, she jumps at the chance Bastian gives her to flee the island as long as she’ll help him regain his lost magic. What commences is an adventure across the land, stopping at several islands as Amora strives to save her people, and letting us see the whole country. The entire book is packed with action, from running from the royal soldiers sent to track Amora down to holding an entire room hostage to save one person–or should I say mermaid.

Characters: 4.5 stars. Setting: 5 stars. Plot: 4.5 stars. All in all: 5 stars.

What did you think of my review? Was it interesting? Boring? Too long? Do you want to read All the Stars and Teeth, or is it on your tbr? Tell me what you think in the comments and be sure to toss a like in there if you enjoyed this post!

Present day Phoenix is back! Thanks so much for reading this review – I know it’s not as polished as most of my current posts (and I would not consider my current posts very polished) but I thought it would be something fun to post.

Before you leave, I just wanted to mention one more thing!! A week ago I published a post celebrating my blogoversary, and put a call out for questions so that I can do a Q and A. I haven’t received many questions yet, so please comment anything you want to know, either on this post, or the one announcing the Q and A, and I’ll get that post out as soon as I feel like I have enough questions!

2 thoughts on “Throwback Post: All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

    1. Omg it’s been so long!!! Yeah, we buddy read this and I think we were going to publish our review posts at the same time but then that never happened🤣 so I thought it would be fun to put it out now! I’m pretty good, haven’t been super active blogging until this summer, but it’s nice to be back in the swing of things.

      Like

Leave a comment