Q & A!

A few weeks ago, I was able to celebrate my third blog anniversary, and honestly it is so incredible that I have made it this far over three years. In order to celebrate, I decided to do a Q and A and answer all the amazing questions that you guys can come up with! I didn’t get a ton of questions, but the ones I did get were all super unique and I cannot wait to answer them. Since this is a shorter post, you’re welcome to ask more questions about me in the comments and I’ll answer them there – if I get enough, I may even do a second Q and A post! But let’s get right into what we have here.

Wow, I don’t really have a travel bucket list, now that I think about it! I love cities, and I love mountains, but I don’t actively seek out places to visit to find those things. I think for my top choice, I would say San Francisco, because I’ve technically been there twice, but the first time I was too young to remember, and the second time we were there for a total of 6 hours (during the nighttime) so I didn’t get to see any of the city. But it sounds like a super cool city, plus I really want to visit the ballpark they have!!

For my second choice, I would say somewhere in Europe, but I don’t actually know a ton about Europe so I’m not sure where. The only time I’ve ever been out of the United States was when I went to Toronto, which is incredibly close to the US, but I would love to visit some of the mountains in Europe, especially after Naemi @A Book Owl’s Corner’s post about them (and thank you to Naemi for this question!).

For choice three, I might go with Japan, because that is obviously a very advanced and amazing country, as well as a place with lots of beautiful sights! Not only that, but Japan has a really good baseball league, so I’d love to go see some baseball and experience what baseball culture is like in a different country.

Oof, this one is tough. First of all, I think the book of my dreams would probably involve baseball, and an aroace female main character (sounds like self-insert, but whatever). Queer rep in sports is incredibly difficult to come by, and aroace rep regardless of the situation is needed, so it would be amazing to see aroace rep in a baseball book! As for who I want to write it, I think I would probably choose Racquel Marie, because I loved both of her first two books, especially the friend groups within them, and her second book is about sports so she can clearly write sports books too. Not sure how well she could write an aroace baseball book, but this is all hypothetical. The other choice I would love to go with would be Taylor Jenkins Reid, but I think she’d make my novel way too dramatic, and a lot of her stories are also centered on romance drama which obviously would not occur in an aroace book (or…could it???). But TJR’s writing is fantastic, so it would be an honor for her to write my book.

I’m gonna be honest – I love the content that’s in the blogosphere right now! I guess one thing it might be fun to see a little more of are book lists, because I love the number of recommendations that I can get from just one book list post, but there are already a lot of those.

I turned to the online world at the beginning of the COVID pandemic, as many people did, and found a great little community of book lovers on goodreads. From there, I met some people who had started blogs and it inspired me to do the same! Books With Wings is also actually my second blog – I started a small one during the very first few days of the pandemic with two of my friends, and although that one died out pretty fast, I’m happy with the experience it gave me to start this one!

This one’s pretty similar to #3, but I think specifically for my life story instead of the story of my dreams, I would go with Taylor Jenkins Reid because all of her books seem so realistic, as if we are actually reading someone’s biography. I think my life is going to have to become a bit more dramatic for that to actually happen, though…

What a question!!! Definitely not something that I have revealed on here before, but I LOVE fruit. There are so many types of fruits that are so delicious. Some of my favorites are mango, nectarine, kiwi, and the classic apple, but if I had to eat only one, I would probably go with mango. You can eat mango in a ton of different ways (just today I ate a bowl of frozen mango pieces AND a mango popsicle) and I love basically all of them. Frozen mango is one of my favorite snacks, and I also love snagging a few strips of dried mango. Having fresh mango is a delicious treat, though I don’t actually get to eat it very often.

My first thought upon reading this was ‘romance’ because I have a general dislike towards romance books. But there are, surprisingly, romances that I do enjoy reading, and I realized there are genres I dislike more. Unfortunately, for this one I think I’m going to have to say science fiction. Sci fi is one of the main genres these days, so it feels weird to say this, but I’ve actually never really enjoyed these books, especially if they’re extra science-y. I don’t understand most of the science in the books, and they just get confusing and convoluted when some of the concepts don’t make sense to me.

That’s it from me for this post! I hope you enjoyed learning a little more about me, and I’m super thankful for everyone who asked questions! They were very creative and I had a lot of fun answering them.

Where would you like to travel? Is there an author you’d like to write your dream story? What are your thoughts on mangos? Let me know in the comments!

15 thoughts on “Q & A!

  1. Gosh, you’re really making me crave mangos right now…

    BUT HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY ONCE AGAIN!!! 🥳 I loved reading your answers and am thrilled I was able to place the Alps on your bucket list 😁 That and your awesome sounding personalized book might even make me forgive you for not liking super sciency sci-fi, which is actually one of my favorite genres 😂

    As to my own travel bucket list, I think my top three spots are currently:
    1) Iceland (The landscape looks incredible, and I’ve heard that 10% of the population are authors and that giving each other books is a huge part of Christmas? 🤩)
    2) Norway/Sweden/Finland (I’m cheating a little here by combining them, but I’d love to do a road trip through all three, do lots of hiking and canoeing, and maybe see the Northern Lights!)
    3) The Australian East Coast (Okay, I kind of just wanna see the Great Barrier Reef before we humans have destroyed corals altogether… 🥲)
    Then again, I’ve already been to San Francisco, so I can confirm that it’s a really cool city without traveling there again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha yes you SHOULD crave mangos, they’re just so good!!!

      THANK YOU. And oops, sorry for hating on sciency sci fi! If I wanted to read about science I would read an article or do a science experiment, not read fiction!

      Oooh, those are great places to visit. My friend visited Iceland last year and the pictures were GORGEOUS. Is Iceland the place where they do Jolabokaflod (I may have spelled that wrong), where you give other people in your family books on christmas eve?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, Jolabokaflod is exactly what I was talking about! (I’m also pretty sure you spelled it correctly, but since most of my Iceland-knowledge comes from only vaguely trustworthy internet sources, I can’t say that I’m 100% sure, either… 😂) It sounds like the coolest tradition ever, and I’d love to experience the country’s excitement surrounding literature for myself!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Phoenix! Sorry I’m so late to this, but hearty congratulations on your third blogiversary 💛 Yup, same here – my blog was one of those birthed from the Covid pandemic too haha! We’ve all come such a long way! Also, Taylor Jenkins Reid is the perfect answer, and I’m pretty sure she could make our drama-lacking lives exciting either way… anyway, hope you have been doing well, and happy end of the year! ❤️‍🔥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment