December Monthly Wrap Up

Can we first just appreciate that I actually posted this wrap up on time, like on the last day of the month, not a week into the next month? Thank you.
Believe it or not, 2021 is over. Like, we’re actually headed into 2022. And I know I’ve already said this about 5,000 times this year, but how has this year gone by so fast???
Let’s look at my December books.

Amazon.com: A Winter's Promise: Book One of The Mirror Visitor Quartet  eBook : Dabos, Christelle, Serle, Hildegarde: Kindle Store
Amazon.com: These Violent Delights: 9781534457690: Gong, Chloe: Books
  • A Winter’s Promise by Christelle Dabos. I finally dipped into the books I got last Christmas that I didn’t end up reading. And honestly…I did not enjoy this one. It just felt like a whole lot of nothing was happening, and while the worldbuilding is good (this book’s worldbuilding is very hyped) it wasn’t something that I was enraptured with or anything. ⭐⭐
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I forgot how nice rereading books is! And especially this one. It was awesome to be able to see the crows again, head through the heist with them, and catch so many things woven in the story that I didn’t get the first time! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong. Another reread, this one in preparation to read the second book. The first time I picked this one up, I found it kind of slow, and the writing style was a little more dense than I was used to, but this time I was able to appreciate it so much more! ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Amazon.com: Just Ash: 9781541599246: Santana, Sol: Books
  • Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas. Continuing with the rereads, I guess! I got a little sick one weekend this month, so after I got home from school that Friday I just picked it up and flew through the first half, then finished it before I got out of bed the next day. Just as good as I remembered! ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Just Ash by Sol Santana. This was such an interesting read because it’s the first book I’ve read with an intersex character, not to mention main character with multiple intersex side characters as well! At times, I got a little bored but overall it was a really interesting book and I learned a lot. ⭐⭐⭐
  • Little Thieves by Margaret Owens. The first of the books I got for Christmas! I loved Owens’s other books, the Merciful Crow series (which I think is extremely underrated) so I couldn’t wait to try this one and I’m delighted to say that it was just as great as the Merciful Crow! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Our Violent Ends by Chloe Gong. I…don’t know what to say. I loved this book, I loved the story just as much as the first. However, it did feel like a few parts were a little rushed or sudden. Still, overall, awesome! ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim. I only vaguely know the story that this novel is based off of, but I really enjoyed this retelling, I thought it was unique and I liked the twist at the end! ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Girl Made of Stars by Ashley Herring Blake. I really enjoyed this one! It was kind of a short, easy read but it still definitely dealt with a lot of important stuff. I thought that writing the book from Mara’s perspective was a really interesting take, and overall, this was a great book. ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I posted three times this month which is much better than usual (mostly thanks to winter break). I also posted one of my favorite posts of the year, the 2021 book tag!

the 2021 book tag!
My 5 favorite books of the year
4 bookish resolutions for the new year

December Goals:

  • Work on your english project (because I feel like this is something I’ll forget)✅
  • Post at least 3 blog posts? (including wrap up)✅
  • Stop reading just to finish books (read what you want to read!!!)✅
  • Hang out with your friends✅
  • Enjoy your time not in school✅
  • Study more

I’m pretty sure I worked on my english project TOO much and totally annoyed all my group members by bugging them to do things as well, so I don’t know how to feel about that. But I did manage to post at least three blog posts, and that’s NOT including the wrap up! As for reading to finish books – I did do this once or twice, at one point with a book that I did NOT enjoy, but other than that I still think I did pretty well. School has helped a LOT with hanging out with friends, so that’s nice, and with break and everything, I’ve been able to enjoy more time not in school. Studying, as always, is not my strong suit but at least I’ve been doing pretty well in school?

January Goals:

  • Read at least 5 books
  • Drink water
  • Keep up with your book google form thing
  • The first thing that happened, way at the beginning of December, was the baseball lockout. I know you all have gotten kind of tired of me talking about baseball, but this is IMPORTANT. Basically, there is literally nothing happening in baseball right now, like trades and signings aren’t allowed, I mean essentially there are no baseball players at all.
  • ANOTHER disappointing thing that happened this month was that Netflix officially CANCELED Julie and the Phantoms. For those of you who’ve been following my blog since approximately last March or earlier, you’ll know of my obsession with the show Julie and the Phantoms, but now there will not be ANY more seasons!!! However there’s a petition to bring it back, so if any of you love JATP or, I mean just wanna help out some JATP-lovers, please sign here!
  • This month, we had our school concerts, so I had my orchestra concert this month! Honestly, we all thought we were terrible, and I messed up badly enough to mess my stand partner up for a good two lines at one point, but it was still fun and it didn’t sound awful on the broadcast.
  • There was Christmas, of course! I got 12 books on Christmas, which is a pretty good haul if I do say so myself! I’m going to try to get a Christmas book haul post out eventually. (don’t ask me when eventually is, if I publish a Christmas book haul in the middle of March then so be it)
  • I also hit 300 followers on my blog this month, so that’s a cool one!

That’s all for the last wrap up of 2021! I can’t wait to talk to you all in 2022 and let’s see what adventures we all get into next year!

What books did you read this month? How’d you like the posts that I published? Did anything interesting happen with you in December?

24 thoughts on “December Monthly Wrap Up

  1. I reread Six of Crows earlier this year, and I enjoyed it even more the second time seeing all those little details I missed back when I first read it! The Julie and the Phantoms cancellation broke my heart as well. I feel like all the best shows are constantly getting cancelled 😦

    Also, thank you for including my post here! I do hope you decide to give the Young Avengers a try!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yesss rereading Six of Crows is really just so fun. I also found that I liked Matthias a lot more the second time around, I actually really didn’t like him the first time, probably because how he acted in the beginning, but I appreciated his character development way more this time around. And yeah I knowww, JATP being cancelled was so sad to hear, it was such an amazing show. I don’t actually watch many shows so I haven’t really heard of many others that have been cancelled but it really is heartbreaking when a show that you love is cancelled.
      Of course, your post was amazing!
      Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you have an awesome New Years!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh congrats on 300 followers, phoenix!! Your blog is awesome and you deserve every one of them💕 I am very excited (and scared) to read our violent ends. The cemetery boys and six crimson cranes are on my tbr too, I’ve heard nothing but good things about them!
    Hope you have a great new year ✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thank you so much that’s so sweet! Ooh, yes I first read Cemetery Boys last year and I absolutely devoured it and second time around it was just as good, so I’d highly recommend! Six Crimson Cranes was really interesting as well, and I enjoyed how it deviated from the original tale while still keeping the original very noticeable. Do you know anything about the story it’s based off (whose name I am entirely forgetting, something about swans???)
      I hope you have an awesome new year as well!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. actually I don’t know anything about the original story it’s based on (I might have to research before reading the book lol, it’ll be interesting to spot the differences) the original story’s called the six swans’ fairytale or something like that!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha well you can always go into the book without knowing anything about the tale, that works too! I feel like when you read retellings there’s really two ways to go about it: either read it without knowing anything about the original story, or read it after having read the original story. Both definitely have their pluses and minuses, so you could really go both ways! Haha yeah, something like that. For some reason I thought there were 12 swans in the original tale, but honestly I might have remembered wrong!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Phoenix!! Happy new year!! I’m sorry you didn’t love a winter’s promise. to tell you the truth, I just want to read it because of it’s wintery vibes. But we’ll see now. I’m currently reading cemetery boys and really liking it! so glad you loved it too. Have an amazing new year! ps; I also have drink water on my goals for next month hahaha. I drink too much tea I guess lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy new year to you too! Aah yeah, honestly there are not many wintery vibes in it….the place that the main character spends most of the book is kinda wintery, but she spends the entire time inside and it doesn’t talk about the winter except for like…once. But if you want to read it, please, don’t let me stop you! There are so many people who enjoy it! Aah, I’m glad that you’re enjoying Cemetery Boys, it’s a such a good book!!! haha yeah I just don’t drink enough liquids in general, it’s bad. Whatever I can do to make myself more willing to do so.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful Wrap-Up! You read so many amazing books last month! 💕 I want to wholeheartedly thank you for mentioning my post, it really means a lot 🥺 also I found out through your post that JATP is cancelled and I am incredibly disappointed! I had hope that we would get a second season especially since so many people enjoyed it, it’s a shame. Happy new year! 🥳

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Haha yeah I think I had a great reading month as well! Of course, your post was amazing. Ah! Sorry you had to find out! It really is extremely disappointing, it does seem like so many people loved JATP so I don’t know why they’d cancel it! Happy new year to you, too!

      Like

Leave a comment