July Wrap Up

Approximately 99% of wrap ups I’ve read for this month have said the same thing, but it’s worth saying again: how is it already July? I can still remember making my crazy wrap up for January (yes, the one that was 3150 words long) like it was yesterday. I subtitled that one ‘one month down, eleven to go,’ and now we’re at ‘seven months down, five to go.’ How????
Anyways, as the first month of summer I feel like I had a pretty good reading month. Here’s what I’ve read:

Off the Record (9781984829993): Garrett, Camryn: Books - Amazon.com

Amazon.com: Not My Problem (9781839130854): Smyth, Ciara: Books
Amazon.com: Ace of Spades (9781250800817): Àbíké-Íyímídé, Faridah: Books
  • Off the Record by Camryn Garrett. This was a book that I was super excited for because I’d read the author’s first book a few months ago and loved it and I’m glad to say that it didn’t disappoint! I loved the story, the characters, basically everything! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Not My Problem by Ciara Smyth. This book is everything. It’s funny and it’s fun (two different things) and it has some important lessons and it has an amazing slow burn romance and it’s just so great. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé. This book was shocking and beautifully written and just such an amazing debut. It had so many twists and turns! ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Amazon.com: American Street (9780062473042): Zoboi, Ibi: Books
American Royals (American Royals, #1) by Katharine McGee
Sal and Gabi Break the Universe by Carlos Hernandez
  • American Street by Ibi Zoboi. This was one that I read for school and I didn’t enjoy it immensely, it felt sort of slow at points, but overall it WAS a good story and I’m super glad that schools are assigning better books for reading (at least for summer reading, at least in my school). ⭐⭐⭐
  • American Royals by Katherine McGee. I was recommended this book by a friend who only reads very rarely and who loved this book so, despite a lot of bad reviews I saw, I gave it a try but unfortunately I did not enjoy it at all. ⭐⭐
  • Sal and Gabi Break the Universe by Carlos Hernandez. I adored this book. Easily my favorite middle grade book of all time (sorry Percy Jackson). It was such a fun book and SUPER unique and taught some great lessons, too! The friendships in this book were really valued which was awesome and there needs to be more books about that! I am so glad that this is a book. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Sal and Gabi Fix the Universe (A Sal and Gabi Novel, Book 2) (A Sal and Gabi  Novel, 2): Hernandez, Carlos: 9781368022835: Amazon.com: Books
One Last Stop: McQuiston, Casey: 9781250244499: Amazon.com: Books
Any Way the Wind Blows (Simon Snow, #3) by Rainbow Rowell
  • Sal and Gabi Fix the Universe by Carlos Hernandez. Book two was just as good as book one! I loved how Sal and Gabi’s friendship developed even more and the amazing production that their school ended up putting on. This book also deals with child abuse at times and I loved how Hernandez was able to weave that into the book in a way that middle grade readers could read! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston. Much to everyone’s shock and horror I actually have yet to read RW&RB and I was going to hold off on reading this one too but then a friend lent it to me. This was a nice romance but it wasn’t great on the science fiction elements so if you are looking for romance, go for it! ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Any Way the Wind Blows by Rainbow Rowell. This is definitely a finale that lots of people have been waiting a while for. Overall, it was good and a nice finish to the series but nothing special. I did enjoy it better than I enjoyed book two though. ⭐⭐⭐
Amazon.com: The Cousins (9780525708001): McManus, Karen M.: Books
It Goes Like This by Miel Moreland
Amazon.com: Shatter the Sky (The Shatter the Sky Duology) (9781534437913):  Wells, Rebecca Kim: Books
  • The Cousins by Karen McManus. I picked this book up on a whim from my first library trip since Covid started and I have to say I’m surprised…because I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. The plot twist was surprising but it didn’t make up for the rest of the book being fairly boring. ⭐⭐
  • It Goes Like This by Miel Moreland. This was an anticipated release of mine, and I really enjoyed it! I got it at my most recent bookstore trip thanks to a gift card and I loved the characters and how they dealt with the past! ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Shatter the Sky by Rebecca Kim Wells. It’s about time that I read this book. I heard the author speak at a webinar about a year ago (and actually wrote my first blog post about that, though it was super cringey) and have been meaning to get to her book since then. I finally did, and it was a pretty good book! As the first fantasy I’d read in a while, I enjoyed it! ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Amazon.com: A Good Girl's Guide to Murder (9781984896360): Jackson, Holly:  Books
Amazon.com: Yesterday Is History (9781492694342): Jackson, Kosoko: Books
  • A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson. This is the first time I’ve read this book. It’s been popular for so long, so many people love it, but I’d just never picked it up until now. And I LOVED it. Yes, there were some parts in which Pippa did some not great things (breaking into someone’s house? Pretending to be someone she isn’t to get info?) but the mystery itself, the reveal…I loved it. ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Yesterday is History by Kosoko Jackson. This was an over 300 page book but I’m not entirely sure where those pages went, because it sure felt a lot shorter. I mean, overall I enjoyed this book, but there were a lot of things about it that felt lacking, most of all the relationship development. ⭐⭐⭐

The Monthly Bingo is created by A Colorful Bibliophile and it is totally amazing, so please head over there and check it out! It’s such a fun thing to do and I hope you’ll join in on it! Here’s the link to August’s board and here’s what I’ve done for this month!

I only wrote two posts this much which is down from my 3 last month but also I was away for about 2 weeks this month so whatever. Both these posts were super fun, though, so I’m really happy about them!

I loved hosting this interview and I think it’s my favorite interview to date!
This is probably my favorite post I’ve written, it was super fun to write!

July Goals:

  • Write a pretty big chunk of my book
  • Do at least half of my summer work (don’t you dare leave it all for August)✅❌
  • Read 12 books
  • Catch up on book reviews on goodreads
  • Try to play some more softball (if your body doesn’t continue to get hurt in various ways)

August Goals:

  • Finish summer work
  • Exercise some more
  • Play more softball
  • Catch up on goodreads reviews
  • Schedule your day

Overall, July was a SUPER fun month! It was the first month of my summer break so I had some more time to do stuff and I definitely did do some stuff!

  • I went to softball camp! This was huge for me because it was basically my first time playing softball after I fractured my elbow back in May. Fortunately, my elbow is all better now and camp was amazing. I learned a lot and made a lot of friends!
  • I also went on vacation. I’m not going to say where, but I just got back yesterday (If I post this on Sunday like I’m hoping to). It was a really nice vacation, I went on some hikes, I got some ice cream, and I just got to get away from my house for a bit!
  • I restarted the book I’m writing+did some planning. This is the book that I began writing back in…January? Something like that. I first thought of it way back in November or something like that. I’m on draft number 3 now, but this time I’ve done some more planning and have a pretty good idea for where I want it to go.
  • Baseball. I feel like this is something that has to be in every wrap up because the wrap ups are my only chance to talk about baseball. But the trade deadline closed on Friday and oh my gosh what the heck happened. I am still in shock over the Cubs and the Nationals and kind of distraught, too.

That’s a wrap! How was your month of July? Have you read any of the books that I read this month? And how’s your life been?
Thank you so much for reading this, it means the world. As always, stay safe and keep on reading!

32 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

  1. Lovely wrap up!! I’m glad you enjoyed Ace of Spades because I’ve been so excited for it!! I’m also glad that you like A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder because I love that book so much! Also props to you for all the books you finished!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Oh, I really hope you enjoy Ace of Spades, it’s such a good book! Yeah honestly I felt like a failure of a reader for not having read AGGGTM sooner because EVERYONE loves it! Haha thank you! Happy August! (I almost wrote July there, the months are going by so fast!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope I do too! Ahh that’s okay! I could say the same about other books that I haven’t read quite yet. Yes, I know right. Times flies so fast! Hope you have an amazing August!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard nothing but good things about Ace Of Spades, I am so excited to read it!! Ooh I like playing softball too, but I have never had any official training as such so I have no technique whatsoever and just play for fun
    Great wrap-up!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ace of Spades really is a good book so I hope that you enjoy it when you pick it up! Oh, it’s always fun to find another softball player! Yeah, I mean I don’t know if I’ve gotten any ‘official training’ either…I mean, yes I did go to the camp but also the camp was just taught by people who finished college recently and played softball in college, it wasn’t anything super training-like haha. I mean, it’s a game so of course it’s played for fun! As long as you enjoy it, that’s okay!
      Thank you so much and happy July!

      Like

  3. July was ok. My cousins were in town last month and we watched the Loki Series on Disney+! That show left us on a cliffhanger until whenever Loki Series SEASON 2 comes out! Also it’s so nice to revisit the Thor movies and watch my most favorite characters do their madness.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh well that’s nice that your cousins were in town! Oh, nice, I haven’t watched much Marvel but I’ve heard good things about the Loki Series! I totally get the feeling of revisiting movies and/or books that you love and really liking to see the characters again!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, another person who hasn’t read AGGGTM haha! I just feel like everyone has read it so I’m glad to hear of another person who hasn’t! It is a very good book, I hope you enjoy it, and Ace of Spades is a wonderful debut! I hope you have a great August as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. loved this wrap-up, Phoenix! thank you so much for mentioning my post, I’m so glad you liked it! haha I haven’t read AGGGTM yet but I’m so much more excited for it now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes no problem, your post was EXCELLENT! Ha I feel like whenever I read a book that I thought was super popular it turns out that there’s so many people who still haven’t read it. But then again, I guess that’s the case with any book, even if it’s popular, there are people who haven’t read it. Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have an excellent July!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha exactly! that’s something with every book but I’m so excited to start reading AGGGTM! it sounds spectacular!! of course hope you have an amazing august too!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooh this seems to have been a great month for you in reading!! Reading 12 books omg I could never. I’ve always wanted to read AGGGTM too! Hopefully the day will come for me hahaha but it is reassuring to see you love it!! It’s probably a good choice then! As for me I’m on vacation and I’ve FINALLY gotten out of my reading slump, which had been lasting for like a whole year. Getting back into good YA thriller/horror like Wilder Girls and We Were Liars which I totally recommend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Haha yeah I just have more time on my hands than some people. I think I actually read 15–I only showed 14 on this post because I actually forgot about one that I read, but yeah, because I’m on summer break I’ve been getting a lot more reading done. Ooh, I hope you’re able to read AGGGTM soon, it’s so good! Oh hey vacation is fun, how’s it going, what kind of stuff are you doing? And CONGRATULATIONS on getting out of your reading slump yikes that slump sounds painful. Aaah I’ve been wanting to read Wilder Girls for a while it sounds so good but I’ve never gotten around to it and I’m also lowkey a little scared of it because some of the reviews say that it’s a little gruesome.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. (idk if this will still read as bella (weird things are happening on my account :/) but uh this is me!!)
        holy shit 15 that’s so many. that’s a book per two day basically. that’s powerful of you tbh. but yesss summer break is wonderful, much more time to read!!
        I’m exploring northern ontario atm!! i even swam in Huron Lake today, which was really cool, and i’ve mostly been exploring forests and such!
        Ohhh you should totally read wilder girls– it may be a *little* gruesome (though tbh not as bad as people make it to be. there’s just maybe one scene that made me flinch but like it’s fine. though i will give you a trigger warning for self harm, that stuff is there!!) but it’s totally worth it! the plot is amazing and um well ~sapphic~ which is wonderful. and i fell in love with the characters (especially byatt). overall i totally do recommend!!
        you seem to have been writing a lot!! hopefully it’s going well! which book are you currently writing?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yep, I know it’s you! I’m so glad to talk to you!
        Haha yeahhh that’s just what I do with time on my hands.
        Oh, that’s so cool! I don’t know much about Canada (I’ve never even been out of the US) but that sounds awesome!
        Good to know! Hmm okay! Ah I see. Yesss It’s sapphic haha!
        Yeah my writings been going pretty well! Currently I’m writing a book about queer teens playing baseball haha. I’ve sorta shifted from fantasy into realistic fiction idk why that happened but whatever Im cool with it.

        Like

  6. It looks like you had a fun month! A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder is so good, and I’m glad you liked it. I’ll have to check out some of the other books you read. My July was pretty good. Not the best month ever, but pretty good.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Loved your wrap up!! Even though it’s quite an old release The Good Girls Guide To Murder has been everywhere on the blogosphere lately so I might have to pick it up! Ace of Spades also sounds amazing (and fits the dark academia bingo prompt!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yeah, AGGGTM has been a very popular book for a very long time so I finally picked it up and it’s definitely a very good book! Ha I can’t believe I didn’t see the dark academia bingo prompt thank you for letting me know whoops. And it was definitely an amazing book, I hope that you get the chance to read it! Thank you for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. you read so many great books in july, wow! i’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed ace of spades, it was so shocking and even though i knew how good it’d be, i was still surprised by how well-written it was haha. and i’m looking forward to off the record and shatter the sky, so i’m glad that you enjoyed both of those (especially the latter, since i’ve heard so many mixed things for it)

    so happy to hear that you got to hear softball again after being out of it from your injury! and glad to hear that your elbow is all healed now. thank you so much for linking to my post and i hope you have another wonderful month!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yesss, ace of spades was quite the book, it was really well written I agree! Off the Record was really good, I hope you get to it soon! And yeah, I thought that Shatter the Sky was good too. I personally haven’t heard any mixed things but I can see why there might be, there were some parts that were kind of slow and/or confusing? It was kind of unclear what the main character’s plan was for some of the book.

      Thank you!!! Ha yeah I’m definitely super glad about my elbow being healed. No problem, and you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Lovely post!! First I’m happy to hear that you are back in the baseball game and that your elbow is better! I am SO happy that you enjoyed Ace of Spades, it’s one of my favourite books of 2021! 🥰 I have been gifted A Good girl’s Guide to murder and I’m relived to hear it lived up to your expectations! I have also heard wonderful things about Off The Record and I am very intrigued 👀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Ace of Spades was amazing, I had no idea what to expect, going into it, but WOW! Oh, I hope that you enjoy A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder, it’s so popular so I finally got around to picking it up and it was indeed very interesting! And I loved Camryn Garrett’s first book so I was excited for Off the Record, and it definitely delivered!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment