Lost in Translation Book Tag

Alright everyone, today we are learning a lesson and that lesson is to never ever trust google translate with your translating needs. This is something, actually, that any teacher teaching me a language has told me countless times and yet people probably still do it because it’s easier. So let’s see what this tag is all about and have some fun as we go!

Thank you so much, Sunny @Revolution Reading for tagging me in this tag! Here’s how it works:

  1. Pick the last book that you read
  2. Translate the title into three or more languages using google translate
  3. Translate it back into english and compare how close or how far it was from the original title
  4. Put the original title down at the bottom and talk about your last read!

Translated title: Magic Technique

(Yoruba, Ukrainian, Icelandic, Chinese, English)

What. WHAT? W H A T?????? Okay but seriously, try to guess. Just try to guess what the heck this title could possibly be. I want you to write down your guesses right now and tell me in the comments after because this is absolutely ridiculous.

The original title is Sorcery of Thorns
How, just how did I get “Magic technique” from Sorcery of Thorns?

Anyways, I did do a book review about this book but I may as well talk about it.

This was a very interesting fantasy book. Our main character, Elisabeth, grew up in a library of magical books so…you all can be jealous of her now. But then (dramatic pause…) she becomes accused of setting a cursed book on the nearby town (even though she was the one who stops it)! Thus, she is sent to the city with a sorcerer to face her judgement!

This was a different book, a different idea, than other books I’ve read and it was fascinating that way. There were some parts that I felt were unneeded or overly convenient and the ending was a little confusing to me, but other than that, it was very good! To see my full book review, click here.

Okay! I’m gonna do another one because I want to and also I thiiiink this one is gonna be great. I hope it will be, anyways. Here goes:

Translated title: We Slip a Hand

(English, Chinese, Thai, Pashto, Haitian Creole, Portuguese, English)

W-what? I don’t even know what this means. We Slip a Hand? It sounds like some book about card games. Or like…nope, I have no idea why you would name a book “We Slip a Hand.”

Anyways. Any guesses on what this one actually is? Write them down now and put them in the comments at the bottom? The actual name is below:

The original title is We Ride Upon Sticks.
So it looks like the ‘we’ part is still the same, but the rest of it…I dunno how on earth this happened.

We Ride Upon Sticks was a really interesting book. It was an adult book and the entire thing was pretty slow, but it was actually really good. I loved it because it was about a female sports team which is not something that you read much. Plus, the girls had a super strong bond which was nice. There was a lot of diversity, both racially and LGBTQ+-wise so that was super cool, especially since it was based in 1989. I loved seeing how the girls grew over the year and discovered more about themselves and each other. You can find my goodreads review on this book here.

Well that’s the book tag! Again, thank you so much to Sunny for tagging me; this was super fun. I will tag:

Alex @The Scribe Owl
Lilly @Lilly’s Little Library
Sibella @YA Book Reviews

Well, there’s the post! I really hope you enjoyed this tag, it was fun to do and had a really funny turn out! Remember, those tagged don’t have to do the review and if you weren’t tagged but think it sounds interesting, please go ahead and do it!
As always, thank you so much for reading; it means the world. Stay safe and keep on reading!

25 thoughts on “Lost in Translation Book Tag

  1. This is fun and thank you for sharing this with us. It’s a fascinating topic as well. Your blog post got me thinking, really, I guess it inspired the philosopher in me. When I write pieces in minority languages, I do usually not translate it to any other languages, because it would do no justice to the original. Translation is no easy task for a machine because it requires social and cultural understanding as well. The meaning of words is usually context-specific and Google Translate is having a hard time with that. Human translators can, for instance, do a good job for the translation of novels because they can interpret what other humans are thinking and they can empathise with the culture behind the language. There might come a day that we reach human level intelligence in machine translation, but intelligence does not necessarily equal the ability to empathise with humans socially and culturally. An intelligence trapped in a machine is not able to physically interact with humans like a human translator can. There might be ways for a computer intelligence to overcome those obstacles to achieving human-level empathy and biological experience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment